Coverage of the major substantive procedural aspects of labor and employment arbitration. Detailed treatment of such areas as sexual harassment, workplace violence, drugs and alcohol, disabilities, subcontracting, bargaining unit disputes, and the public sector, including education, health care, the entertainment industry, and public sector interest arbitration.
Also available on Lexis- Labor & Employment Arbitration.
Classic reference work on labor arbitration. Topics in each chapter are identified by Bloomberg BNA Labor Arbitration Reports classification numbers to facilitate additional research. Includes tables of arbitration awards, statutory authorities, and cases, as well as a comprehensive index.
Gives step-by-step guidance on researching the case; selecting witnesses, evidence, and the arbitrator; opening statements; presenting the case in chief; rules of evidence; making and defending against objections; cross-examination; redirect and recross-examinations and rebuttal; closing arguments; posthearing briefs; and challenging the award.
Covers topics including (among others) arbitration procedure; relationships between the arbitrators, the National Labor Relations Board, and the courts; judicial review of arbitration awards; and the process of contractual interpretation.
This collection by members of the National Academy of Arbitrators explains the most widely accepted arbitral principles on a variety of arbitration and subjects, including black-letter statements that summarize important points and extensive commentary and references.
Combines a lawyer's legal training and experience with interpersonal skills that achieve tangible results, offering lawyers a consistent and effective approach to establish a framework for any bargaining challenge.
Follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. Text first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also, addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles and strategies, as well as the stages of legal negotiation.
Specifically designed to teach students how to negotiate in the actual practice of law, but derived from the ongoing research of social science, law, and business school scholars. Sample dialogue illustrates specific negotiation tactics. Includes discussion of both the influence of race, gender, and nationality on the bargaining process and alternative dispute resolution processes.
A comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primary aspects of mediation practice. It considers the legal, philosophical, policy and practical issues surrounding mediation use. Matters include issues such as levels of participation in mediation, enforceability of mediated agreements, regulation of practice including ethical concerns, and a survey of the specialized applications of mediation. The extent and limits of confidentiality are examined with consideration of the Uniform Mediation Act. Each chapter also contains an extensive bibliography and listing of leading cases on each subject area.
A comprehensive discussion of the aspects of mediation, including diverse areas of dispute in which mediation has been successful with real case stories. The appendix is also easily used for reference and additional readings for newcomers to mediation.
Provides a comprehensive description of the arbitration process. The coverage of the book starts from the pre-hearing stage to the post-hearing functions & duties of the arbitrator. The appendices feature tables, checklists, sample arbitration forms & rules, including the American Arbitration Association's revised Commercial Arbitration Rules.
A concentrated summary of all the major aspects of the U.S. law of arbitration. It addresses the major facets of the law -- for example, freedom of contract, federal preemption, and wide-ranging arbitrability -- with a thorough sense of the relevant case law and the ultimately applicable legal rules. It identifies the various forms of arbitration -- labor, commercial, employment, consumer, and securities -- with a full awareness of their unifying characteristics and the features that make them unique.
A comprehensive handbook that offers an introduction to the fundamental concepts and materials for arbitration-related issues, including the law, its history, and relevant case law. Also included is practical advice on how to construct an arbitration clause and decipher related statutes and regulations, as well as a discussion of labor and employment, securities, and international arbitration.
Includes an assessment of the benefits of ADR, the specific tactics and tools available within an ADR context, case studies where ADR has been used to achieve improved results, and practical advice and tips for advocacy in ADR settings, with special emphasis on mediation skills. Relevant statutes and case law are included within a larger narrative that highlights the most effective strategies of Alternative Dispute Resolution.
This comprehensive guide provides an overview of alternative dispute resolutions and settlements, presenting alternatives to dispute resolutions that go beyond the "one size fits all" litigation mentality. On-point discussion facilitates an understanding of the wide variety of options available that can better suit a client's needs, such as negotiation, mediation, and arbitration.
Presents the views of experts on mediation and arbitration to legal professionals on all sides, and at every level of experience. Advocates advise on preparing and presenting a case, while the editor distills their advice in summary chapters that provide both an overview and insights into what makes ADR work.